Manchester United football club


Manchester United history


Manchester United was formed as the “Newton Heath FC” in 1878 but changed its name to “Manchester United” in late 1902. Manchester United won their first title in 1908, but that wasn’t until the 1950s when Sir Matt Busby took over. As a coach, Manchester United enjoyed their first period of success. Led the Red Devils to three championships over the decade, Manchester United became the first English club to compete in European Cup in 1957.


The Red Devils suffered their darkest day in 1958 when the plane carrying the team from a European match crashed home, killing eight players in the tragedy. However, Busby, who survived the accident with Manchester United’s most outstanding player, Sir Bobby Charlton, rebuilt the team. The new Manchester United squad featuring the incredible George Best and Dennis Law won the league twice in the 1960s before winning their first European Cup in 1968.


Manchester United title

Red Devils

Manchester United officially recognizes the “Red Devils” as their nickname. Manchester United’s early nickname was “Pagans” since they came from Newton Heath.


The Manchester United title is owed to the French. Salford’s dominant rugby league team was awarded the Red Devils nickname during a tour of France in 1934, and 30 years later; this title became associated with the football team.


Manchester United logo


The Manchester United logo is the most recognizable symbol in the world. The badge is derived from the city crest of Manchester, while the demon on the Manchester United badge refers to United’s nickname “The Red Devils.”


Manchester United Manager – Ole Gunnar Solskjaer



Ole Gunnar Solskjaer was given the position after Jose Mourinho was sacked in December until the end of the season as interim manager. The Norwegian immediately hit the ground, winning his first eight matches, leading his team to a stunning Champions League victory over Paris Saint-Germain to advance to the competition’s quarter-finals.


Solskjaer was handed the full-time job back in March and was given a three-year contract to steer the club in the right direction. Solskjaer scored 128 goals in 366 matches for United between 1996 and 2007 and managed the reserve team for Manchester United until the end of 2010.


Manchester United owner


Glazer family

The Glazers were the great owners of Manchester United. American owner Malcolm Glazer (center) completed a club takeover in 2005 and helped the club advance on and off the field.


Manchester United Cups


English Premier League titles Manchester United (13)


Manchester United has been the top-flight champions 20 times in their club’s history, including 13 league titles. The thirteenth Premier League title came in the 2012-13 season under Sir Alex Ferguson.


Title contracts

  • 1900 1908
  • 1910 1911
  • 1950, 1952, 1956, 1957
  • 1960, 1965 and 1967
  • 1990s 1993, 1994, 1996, 1997, 1999
  • 2000, 2001, 2003, 2007, 2008, 2009
  • 2010, 2011, 2013


Manchester United legends


1. Ryan Giggs

Ryan Giggs was one of the greatest servants United has ever known. He made his club debut during the 1990/91 season and was a regular player from the 1991/92 season. Established himself as the left winger during the 1990s and continued into the 2000s, although he was increasingly used to a more profound role in the toy industry in his later years. Giggs was known for his tireless running, possession, and ability to create goal-scoring opportunities for those around him.


Ryan Giggs scored in every Premier League season he has played and also holds the record for most matches for United. In addition, Giggs has won all the major titles, taking home 13 league titles and two European Cups.


2. Sir Bobby Charlton


Sir Bobby Charlton is known as one of the best and all-time greatest midfielders of all time and a vital member of the England team that won the World Cup. Bobby Charlton won the Ballon d’Or in 1966, and his statue is located outside Old Trafford.

He played almost all his club football at Manchester United, where he was known for his attacking instincts, passing abilities from midfield, and fierce long-range shots. After the Munich disaster, one of the pivotal leaders at United, Sir Bobby, was one of the game’s greatest servants.

3. Wayne Rooney


Wayne Rooney was a former player and captain of Manchester United. Wayne Rooney has played much of his career as a striker but has also been used in many midfield roles. He spent two seasons at Everton before moving to Manchester United in 2004. Since then, with Rooney on the team, United has won the Premier League five times, the Champions League once, the Club World Cup once, and the League Cup twice.


4. Paul Scholes


Paul Scholes played his entire career with Manchester United. He made his debut for United in the 1994/95 season and went on to play a crucial role in Manchester United’s treble-winning season. Scholes won 11 Premier League titles, 3 FA Cups, and the Champions League twice with the Red Devils.


He was considered his generation’s best English midfielder and scored 155 goals in 718 matches.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.